The Ehecatl-Quetzalcoatl Temple is among the most recent archaeological discoveries in Mexico City. Discovered just in 2014, the public viewing area opened only in 2018.
In fact, it’s in the basement of the small Plaza Tlatelolco shopping center. The circular temple is dedicated to the god of wind, Ehecatl. In fact, a good number of sites in the City are dedicated to the same deity. Three are in Tlatelolco, and the other recent one is in the basement level of the Spanish Cultural Center, on the north side of the Zócalo. Even better known is the temple within the Pino Suárez Metro station.
This site centers around a 12-meter diameter circular platform.
The Ehecatl-Quetzalcoatl Temple came about during three construction stages. The earliest dates from 1337. The second stage is believed to date from between 1376 and 1417. This was then modified in about 1427.
The site was uncovered during the demolition of an old supermarket.
The platform about three meters below the street level.
Along with the platform, scientists uncovered some 1,000 complete artifacts, and about 43,000 fragments. Among these were ceramics, shells, stones, and some 20 human and animal burials.
Ehecatl, like Tlaloc, is better understood as an aspect of Quetzalcoatl. Ehecatl ‘swept’ the skies in preparation for the rain of Tlaloc. But both of them are understood as parts of the dominant Quetzalcoatl.
The National Institute of Anthropology and History (INAH) built the “archaeological window,” to protect the site but also to offer visitors a chance to view it safely.
The site is open to the public only with a prior appointment. These can be made by telephone or email (see below).